The 2013 Vanda & Young Songwriting Competition is launched

Posted on 6 May 2013

Entries for the 2013 Vanda & Young Songwriting Competition are now open

Launched this week, APRA/AMCOS, Alberts and Nordoff Robbins Music Therapy announced one of the worlds largest charity songwriting competitions. With a prize pool of $65,000, being offered to three place winners this year and all proceeds going to Nordoff Robbins Music Therapy Australia.

The winning songwriter will receive an astounding $50,000 AUD with second and third place prize winners receiving prizes to the value of $10,000 and $5,000 respectively. The winner will be announced in August and will join past winners Kimbra (2011) and Megan Washington (2009) in this great accolade. 

Details of the competition can be found here

Alberts has been a longstanding supporter of Nordoff Robbins Australia in its mission to transform lives through the provision of music therapy. The songwriting competition was launched in 2009 to support and raise the profile of the non-profit organisation and the work it does to change the lives of many.

This unique charity fundraising competition supports talented songwriters whilst raising much needed funds for music therapy. “It’s exciting to not only support songwriters with incredible prizes, but to make a real difference. Music therapy improves the lives of children and adults across the world. This year, we hope the Vanda & Young Songwriting Competition will raise more funds for music therapy than ever before.” said APRA | AMCOS CEO Brett Cottle. 

Music therapy has been proven to help people with developmental disorders such as Autism Spectrum Disorder, Rett Syndrome and Angelman Syndrome and disabilities such as Cerebral Palsy, Down Syndrome, Dyspraxia and Spina Bifida.

Watch this video to see how music therapy can make a difference.

As mentioned, the competiton is open to anyone in the world with a AUD$50 entry fee per song. All proceeds raised will be donated to Nordoff Robbins to run the Golden Stave Music Therapy Centre in Penrith, Sydney.

This years judging panel includes: 

Gary Go

Stuart Crichton

Arnthor Birgisson

Chris de Stefano

Mark Moffatt

Louis Schoori

Jenny Morris

Catherine Haridy (Catherine Haridy Management)

Kav Temperley (Eskimo Joe)

Kevin Mitchell 


Stavros Yiannoukas

Roma Waterman

Rai Thistlewayte

Michael Fix

Matthew De La Hunty

Les Gock

James Blundell

Graham "Buzz"Bidstrup

Eric Chapus

Brendan Gallagher

Amanda Brown

Jonathan Zwartz

Jon Stevens


© 2016 Alberts Pty Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Alberts is a leading Australian independent music rights management company