San Cisco are the BIG Winners at the 2012 WAMi Awards

Posted on 4 Jun 2012

The 2012 WAMi Festival came to a close on Saturday night with the announcement of the WAMi Awards which saw San Cisco as the big winners on the night.

The Indie-poppers took out a HUGE eight awards on the night including 'Most Popular Group, 2012 Breakthrough Act and 'Pop Act of the Year'.

San Cisco's song Awkward won the WAMi Award for Most Popular Single/EP, Music Video and their Awkward EP won Most Popular Album/EP

The WAMi awards also acknowledged San Cisco's manager Phil Stevens as this years 2012 Management Award,  Nick Gardener (Bassist of the Year) and Scarlett Stevens (Drummer of the Year).  

The 2012 WAMi Awards were co-hosted by former WA comedian and Good News Week presenter Claire Hooper, and Triple j Home & Hosed presenter Dom Alessio.

Western Australia music industry's night of nights honours the local music industry talent through no less than 42 awards. This years awards included live performances from WA's internationally renowned Eskimo Joe, John Butler & Mama Kin, plus (former frontman of The Stems) Dom Mariani and the Hurricane Fighter Plane.

The Closing Party, presented by RTRfm, followed on from the Awards, offering live sets from Bastian’s Happy Flight, Sonpsilo Circus, Voltaire Twins, The Chemist and San Cisco.

Most Popular Group: San Cisco
Most Popular Live Act: Abbe May
Most Popular Solo Artist: Abbe May
Most Popular Music Website: FasterLouder
2012 Breakthrough Act: San Cisco
Most Popular Music Venue: The Bakery
Most Popular Single/EP: San Cisco, Awkward
Most Popular Music Video: San Cisco, Awkward
Most Popular Album/EP: San Cisco, Awkward EP
Most Popular Music Event: RTRfm’s In the Pines

Most Promising New Act: Sonpsilo Circus
Rock Act of the Year: Abbe May
Pop Act of the Year: San Cisco
Experimental Act of the Year: Tangled Thoughts of Leaving/Usurper of Modern Medicine (Tie)
Hardcore Punk Act of the Year: Project Mayhem
Metal Act of the Year: Drowning Horse
Blues Act of the Year: Abbe May
Folk Act of the Year: Ruby Boots
Acoustic Roots Act of the Year: Ruby Boots
Funk Act of the Year: Brow Horn Orchestra

Live Sound Engineer of the Year: Stu McLaughlin
Recording Engineer of the Year: Dave Parkin
Guitarist of the Year: Doug May (Abbe May, The Fags)
Bassist of the Year: Nick Gardener (San Cisco)
Drummer/Percussionist of the Year: Scarlett Stevens (San Cisco)
Keys/Synth Artist of the Year: Jack Doepel (Voltaire Twins, Bastian’s Happy Flight, MmHmmm)
Multi-Instrumentalist of the Year: Todd Pickett (Davey Craddock and The Spectacles, Kill DevilHills)
Male Vocalist of the Year: Sean Pollard (Split Seconds)
Female Vocalist of the Year: Abbe May
Electronic Producer of the Year: Diger Rokwell
DJ of the Year: Rok Riley
Jazz Act of the Year: Jack Doepel Quartet
Hip Hop Act of the Year: Mathas
Dance/Electronic Act of the Year: Voltaire Twins
Country Music Act of the Year: Ruby Boots
World Music Act of the Year: Grace Barbé
Indigenous Artist of the Year: Yabu Band
WA Record Label of the Year: Spinning Top Records
2012 Media Award: Aarom Wilson (Drum Media)
2012 Media Award – Organisation: RTRfm
2012 Management Award: Phil Stevens
Golden WAMi: Dave Cutbush


  • SAN CISCO "Awkward"

© 2016 Alberts Pty Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Alberts is a leading Australian independent music rights management company