Megan Washington nominated for Breakthrough Songwriter of The Year APRA AWARDS 2011

Posted on 26 May 2011

Congratulations Megan Washington on your freshly announced nominee for APRA Awards 2011, Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year!

Only moments ago, the APRA (Australasian Performing Right Association) proudly announced the nominees for the 2011 APRA Music Awards, the annual knees-up for Australian songwriters and their publishers, listing Megan in the Breakthrough Songwriters category.

Troy Barrot, Managing Director of Hub Artist Services and manager of Megan Washington, was quoted, "we're really excited for Megan on this nomination. The past 12 months have been an incredible ride for her, and to top it all off with an award nomination for her songwriting in such talented company, is not only a genuine honour - but thoroughly deserved for this special talent."

In a change that was introduced for the 2010 awards, the APRA Board of Writer and Publisher Directors have named five songwriters/groups of songwriters for BREAKTHROUGH SONGWRITER OF THE YEAR. This year, they are Anthony Jackson, Ian Kenny, Adam Spark and Adam Weston from Birds Of Tokyo, Nikolas Kaloper, Samuel Lockwood, Hayley McGlone and Heather Shannon from The Jezabels. Kevin Parker, songwriter of Perth outfit Tame Impala, Dan Sultan and co-writer Scott Wilson and last, but certainly not least, the awesomely talented Megan Washington.

For all nominations and a stunning performance by Megan of 'How To Tame Lions', performed at Alberts -

© 2016 Alberts Pty Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Alberts is a leading Australian independent music rights management company