• 1  /  2 Sleepwalking feat. Emi Green | Neil Davidge
  • 2  /  2 Trailer for Davidge - Slo Light

Neil Davidge

Neil Davidge is renowned for his production, co-writing and sonic-sculpting of music for Massive Attack, David Bowie, Snoop Dogg, Damon Albarn, Primal Scream plus the hugely successful Halo 4 game score and soundtrack.  

Neil Davidge is set to release his debut album Slo Light world-wide in 2014.  Building upon Davidge’s seminal work as co-writer and producer for Massive Attack, score composer of Halo 4, plus his collaborations with David Bowie, Snoop Dog, Damon Albarn, Primal Scream and Mos Def the stunning debut album by Davidge is deeply-schooled in Bristol beats, electronica, soundtracks, orchestral music and more.

‘Slo Light’ creates a fantasy world in which tension, darkness and beauty find the perfect equilibrium. The album is sky-high on production value, with an unparalleled clarity and sonic depth typical of Davidge’s unique sound.

Launching the album’s epic journey is title-track ‘Slo Light’, which features vocals from the Davidge-discovered New York singer Stephonik Youth, and clearly demonstrates Neil’s stamp on latter Massive Attack albums.

Cate Le Bon lends her seductive voice to the electronic, motorik-freak-folk of ‘Gallant Foxes’, which then segues and delves deeper still into Karima Francis’s cameo on the tribal-twilight-zone drama of ‘How Was Your Day’.

Neil’s soundtrack background is evident throughout this highly cinematic set, not least on ‘Home From Home’ (featuring Ryan Karazija from Low Roar), whose strings recall his work on the Halo 4 soundtrack, recorded at Abbey Road Studios.

Reminiscent of Brian Eno’s ‘Small Craft on a Milk Sea’, the high octane ‘They Won’t Know’ moves into dissonant, slightly frightening territory, before the mood lightens with the dark electronic lullaby ‘That Fever’.

‘Riot Pictures’, penned by Davidge with lyrics by Robert Del Naja, features the iconic singer Sandie Shaw as you’ve never heard her before – flexing her vocal chords over a sub bass growl and Bond theme-esque string arrangement.

‘Zero One Zero’ channels the EBM spirit of Front 242, Nine Inch Nails or even Gary Numan, whilst ‘Anyone Laughing’ is pristine celestial magnificence, and the smoky ‘Sleepwalking’ doffs its cap to both John Barry and Portishead.

The dark ‘Hummingbird’ has vintage horror flick overtones adorned with Patrick Duff’s soft croon. ‘Sensor’, featuring Jhelisa Anderson displays all the heady, smoky pensive tension of classic  Bristolia before the spoken word ‘Forty Days In The Wilderness’  ends the wondrous ride in poetic fashion.
The album was written by Davidge with contributions from his studio right-hand-man Andrew Morgan, in collaboration with the guest vocalists. The pair played most of the instrumental parts themselves, with strings from The Bristol Ensemble.

Neil Davidge is a record producer, songwriter, film score composer, musician and backing vocalist. In 1996, Davidge co-produced Massive Attack’s ‘The Hunter Gets Captured by the Game’, a song for the ‘Batman Forever’ soundtrack. Working in close collaboration with Massive’s Robert Del Naja (3D), Davidge was then invited to co-produce and shape the sound of the band’s third album, 1998’s Q Award-winning ‘Mezzanine’, (which included the huge hit ‘Teardrop’).

Massive Attack’s fourth album ‘100th Window’ featuring vocals from Sinead O’Connor was also piloted by Davidge and Del Naja.

‘Heligoland’ - the fifth studio album by Massive Attack, was co-produced and co-written by Davidge and Del Naja, with additional production by Tim Goldsworthy. Davidge co-wrote 8 tracks (and produced/mixed the airplay hit ‘Paradise Circus’) as well as playing keyboards, bass and guitar.

In 2004 he took the lead as score composer with Del Naja on the Luc Besson movie ‘Danny the Dog’, later renamed ‘Unleashed’ in the USA. This was followed by Davidge’s solo scores for ‘Bullet Boy’, ‘Battle In Seattle’, the Paul McGuigan-directed ‘Push’, plus ‘Trouble the Water’, which received an Oscar nomination for its score and won ‘Best Documentary’ at the ‘08 Sundance Film Festival. Working with Snoop Dogg on the end title track, Neil scored the music for ‘In Prison My Whole Life’. He also provided additional music to the Warner Brothers blockbuster ‘Clash of the Titans’.

2012 saw the release of the Halo 4 OST, which Davidge composed, arranged and produced. Davidge’s critically-acclaimed soundtrack went on to set the official record as the highest-charting video game soundtrack ever, having reached #50 in the Billboard Chart, #10 in the Independent Album Billboard chart and #3 the National Soundtrack Chart.

Following years of industry respect and renown, ‘Slo Light’ is primed to be the record that brings Davidge to the ears and minds of many discerning music lovers, as a figure of talent and vision, who’ll appeal to fans of sound-exploring producer/artists like Brian Eno, Trent Reznor, Moby and William Orbit.”




Facebook Official Website

Latest News

© 2016 Alberts Pty Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Alberts is a leading Australian independent music rights management company